When visiting Nepal as a tourist, you can easily obtain a visa on arrival at the Tribhuvan International Airport, at border entry points in Kakadvitta, Birgunj, Bhairahawa, Nepalgunj, Gaddachowki at the border to India and also at Kodari, at the border to China.

The tourist visa is usually granted for a period of 90 days and can be extended up to a maximum of 150 days in one visa year (visa year: January – December). Visas can also be obtained at the nearest Nepal Embassy or Diplomatic Mission and  at the Department of Immigration, Kalikasthan, Kathmandu (renewal purposes). A valid passport and one passport-sized photo with a light background is required.

– USD 25 for 15 days Visa
– USD 40 for 30 days Visa
– USD 100 for 90 days Visa

Please note: visas can be obtained only through cash payment in the following currency: Euro, Swiss Franc, Pound Sterling, US Dollar, Australian Dollar, Canadian Dollar, Hong Kong Dollar, Singapore Dollar and Japanese Yen. Credit card, Indian currency and Nepali currency are not accepted as a payment.

Gratis VISA: for the first visit in one visa year (January to December), a gratis visa for 30 days is available to nationals of the following South Asian countries: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. However, visas can be extended by the Immigration Department after having payed the visa fee specified above.

For Indian Nationals
Indian nationals do not require a visa to enter Nepal.
Indian nationals traveling to Nepal must posses one of the following documents:
1. Passport
2. Driver’s license with photo
3. Photo Identity card issued by a Government Agency
4. Ration Card with Photo
5. Election Commission Card with Photo
6. Identity Card issued by the Embassy of India in Kathmandu
7. Identity Card with Photo issued by a Sub- Divisional Magistrate or any other officials above this rank

Also, please check with your nearest travel agents for documents required by the Indian Immigration for Indians traveling to Nepal.

Other Information
Nationals from Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Cameroon, Somalia, Liberia, Ethiopia, Iraq, Palestine and Afghanistan need to obtain a visa from Nepal Embassies or Diplomatic Missions in their respective countries, as they can not obtain a visa on arrival at the immigration entry points of Nepal.

Visa Extension
Tourists can stay for a maximum of 150 days in one visa year (one visa year is from Jan 1 to Dec 31).

For more information, please contact the Immigration Office:
Location: Kalikasthan, Dilibazar, Kathmandu
Tel: +977 -01 -4433934 / 4429660
Fax: +977 – 01 -4433935
E-mail: mail@immi.gov.np
Web: http://www.immi.gov.np

Office hours:
Sunday to Thursday
10am – 5pm in summer
10am – 4pm in winter (NOV- JAN)
Friday: 10am – 3pm

Visa application hours:
Sunday – Thursday: 10am – 3pm
Friday: 10 am – 1pm